Starting Another Posting String

Wednesday, February 7, 2024. On my way to the Dominican Republic for my start-the-calendar-year trip. This one has a preset itinerary: the annual Diocesan Convention, a church visit, the DDG Board meeting and time for long-range planning with Dominican colleagues. Not much time for blogging (or anything beyond meetings), so I’m playing catch-up a bit.

I caught the “late flight” — American Airlines through Miami to Santo Domingo. It didn’t leave until 6:42am. The joys of living in an airline market where every flight needs a connection and they mostly leave early.

The flight was smooth; Miquea met me at the airport; I spent the night at the Seminary apartment. Easy peasy (or is that “peezy”?).

Thursday, February 8, 2024. Moving day. Miquea picked me up in the early afternoon for the transfer to a hotel in Boca Chica, near the convention site (Iglesia San Esteban). I have a few photos to share.

A Dominican cement mixer at a construction site near the seminary.

Check-in at the Whala!bocachica. You cannot have a hotel lobby in the DR without a striking flower arrangement.

Sunset from the hotel buffet. Whala!bocachica is an all-inclusive resort with a mostly Dominican and European clientele. Aging gracefully and, as we say in Nebraska, “A bargain at twice the price”.

The pace picks-up on Friday. Stay tuned.